New SOSE Board holds inaugural meeting

Published: 20 May 2022

The new South of Scotland Enterprise (SOSE) Board has now held its first official meeting.  

The meeting earlier this month was the first for new members Viv Cockburn, Emma Guy, Kirsten Hannay and Paul Winstanley. 

In February, Scottish Ministers announced their appointments, with the quarter officially starting their new roles on 1 April 2022. They will be on the Board for up to four years.  

They are joined on the Board by existing members – Professor Russel Griggs who is Chair, Chief Executive Jane Morrison-Ross, Alistair Cameron, Professor Sara Carter, Helen Forsyth, Duncan McConchie, Lindsay McDowall and Jeremy Sainsbury. 

The Board were joined by a number of SOSE colleagues who provided the Board with updates on the variety of projects and initiatives the economic and community development agency is  leading on to drive change in the South. 

Each new member brings significant skills and experience to complement those of the existing Board members.  

Their appointments will assist SOSE’s work with people, businesses and communities across the South to establish the region as the centre of opportunity, innovation and growth. 

Professor Russel Griggs, SOSE Chair

“We were delighted to be able to meet all together for the first time as a new Board this month.  

“Both our existing and new Board members were left feeling hugely impressed by the work we are doing with the many fantastic businesses, social enterprises and community groups we work with here in the South. 

“We are looking forward to progressing this work and continuing to deliver on our plans to establish the South of Scotland as a centre of opportunity, innovation and growth.” 

Full biographies on each Board member are available here.